Album Review (SJD): Hope Is What We CRAVE | LIVE – for King & Country

for KING & Country LIVE

for King & Country
Hope Is What We Crave | Live

“Fine Fine Life” is a really fun song. It’s very catchy and talks about how, when troubles come our way, we can shrug them off and speak out in faith, “It’s a fine, fine life.”

What I love about “Light It Up” is the middle of the song; they take the time to explain why they wrote it. Joel spoke something that really hit home, “…and it was in that moment that we realized that music has power, doesn’t it? It does, but when you merge the power of music with the ultimate power of the gospel, it not only has the ability to impact people’s day, but it can transform their lives for eternity. Do you believe it?” When I founded SJD MFCL I wanted to support bands that not only sang about God, but also believed that the lyrics they sing, can impact people’s lives.

Now, “Middle Of Your Heart” was featured last week, so instead of rewriting what I wrote, check out: SJD’s In The Moment: Middle Of Your Heart – for KING & COUNTRY for more info.

The only song on the album that I felt didn’t really have to be there was “Missing”. As romantic and passionate of a song, as it is, it just doesn’t reflect godly qualities. Don’t get me wrong, this song is addicting and I love singing it, especially the bridge. “I love the way you understand/the way you love/the way you were when no one was looking/that you were beautiful/and you were worth it all/You’re everything I need/You captured my attention/did I mention I think you’re beautiful darling/If I could tell you now/I tell you how my world is dark/now that you’re missing” Never-the-less, I feel they chose the better song out of the 3 songs I didn’t prefer on their debut album. We would love to know the story behind this song, because I believe there is more to be shared.

“Pushing On A Pull Door” is an upbeat, silly song, that relates to many of us as Christians. The door is unlocked, yet we can’t seem to figure out how to open it. “That you spend all your time pushing on a pull door.” When God is trying to say, “Hey open your eyes, can’t you see you just need to pull the door? I’m not hiding my plans from you.”

Ever had a dry season? Feel like you can’t hear God? I had just come out of my dry season and then started listening to their live album. “Busted Heart” is a great song to help you pull you out of that season. Never give up on Hope; cry out to Him and expect. Take a moment to think of what has tried you down or gotten a grip of you during your dry season. Sing this song and let your worries fall down at His side. He will never let you go.

“Baby Boy” is one of my favorite additions to the album. It is a song that reminds me of Christmas time. It’s really just a beautiful song. You can really see that when for King & Country started their “Proof Of Your Love Tour” they were going all out declaring their love for their Savior.

Hope Is What We CRAVE | LIVE is founded with their single “Crave”. I’ve listened to this song many times, and each time my heart begins to ache for those who have given up on Hope. You can really feel the passion and conviction in this song that just tugs at your heart. Hope is what keeps us going. Without Hope, no one can survive in this dark world. I believe this song has already changed people’s lives and settinh them free, giving them Hope. “Hope is what I crave”.

Last song on this epic live album is, “The Proof Of Your Love.” Words can hardly describe this beautifully written song. In John 15:11-15, Jesus says, “I’ve told you these things for a purpose: that my joy might be your joy, and your joy wholly mature. This is my command: Love one another the way I loved you. This is the very best way to love. Put your life on the line for your friends. You are my friends when you do the things I command you. I’m no longer calling you servants because servants don’t understand what their master is thinking and planning. No, I’ve named you friends because I’ve let you in on everything I’ve heard from the Father” (MSG). Here is “The Proof Of Your Love” the music video:

Through their music, you can see that they are living proof of His Love. The live album as a whole is remarkably stunning. If you liked their debut album, you will fall in love Hope Is What We CRAVE | LIVE. SJD MFCL gives it 4.8/5 it is #SJDMustOwn.

This entry was posted in Album Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

